Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Some may think that 31 is too old to discover new talents… I say ‘Peshaw!”

As we get older life gets busier and it gets harder and harder to stay in touch. So a small group of friends and I have decided to start a monthly dinner date night and block time on our calendars.  We call ourselves the Sangria Mafia.
Through this I have discovered that I am wicked good at making Sangria. This sort-of amazes me since I don’t cook. I have never been talented at combining spices and flavors–but apparently that only extends to food, when it comes to drinks I am a master at it. And yes, I am self-boasting, but if you ask any of my Sangria Mafia counterparts they will back me up.

This month I made Apple Cider sangria. I found the base of my recipe from the following blog and then edited it fit my taste-buds: http://www.inspiredbycharm.com/2013/09/apple-cider-sangria-lose-the-bottle-2500-contest.html

Ingredients I used:
This recipe calls for a lot of ingredients (I was throwing in a lot of what I had sitting around the kitchen) but it is so worth it!

  • 2 bottles of Vieux Papes Blanc de Blancs (found at Whole Foods)
  • 2 bottles of Quail Creek Sauvignon Blanc (found at Whole Foods)
  • 2 cups Pinnacle Caramel Apple vodka (found at Binny’s)
  • 2 cups Evan Williams Cinnamon Brandy (found at Binny’s)
  • 2 cups Illinois River Winery’s Halloween Wine (found at Binny’s)
  • 4 cups Apple Cider (I bought the cheap Dominick’s brand that was all natural)
  • 1 1/2 cups cinnamon simple syrup*
  • 3/4 cup pear liquor
  • 3/4 cup peach brandy
  • 1 Captain Morgan sample bottle (from Binny’s)
  • 1 cup organic grapes, sliced in half
  • 3 organic pears, cubed (or close to it)
  • 4 organic apples (2 red, 2 green), cubed
  • 8 cinnamon sticks

Apple Cider Sangria

*Bring 1 cup sugar, 2 cups water, and 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon (note: I was out of cinnamon so I used 2 teaspoons Penzeys Spice ‘Cinnamon Sugar’) to a simmer over medium-high heat until sugar is completely dissolved. I usually let the mixture simmer for about 10 minutes to create a thicker syrup. Allow syrup to cool completely.

Mix everything together in a 2 1/2 gallon container, refrigerate, and let sit for a day.  Then enjoy–Mmmmm!

 

